December 28, 2011

Ten Paramis or Perfections of the Heart and Mind

In Theravada Buddhism, there are what is known as ten paramis, or perfections of the heart and mind that we can practice cultivating in daily life in order to reach liberation and become awakened.

In the Pali, para means other and mis means shore. Metaphoically, we ride over a turbulent river in the raft of our practice in an effort to reach the shore of liberation and awakening. The river symbolizes the dukkha (suffering and disease) described in the Second Noble Truth; the three characteristics of existence, dukkha (disease), anicca (impermanence, and anatta (non-self); and the eight worldly winds of praise and blame, gain and loss, fame and ill-repute and joy and sorrow. We strengthen our raft and further our journey to the shore of liberation by cultivating the ten paramis.

Over the past year, Pauletta Chanco has spoken on each paramis and posted a practice guide. Links to these talks are listed below in the order in which they are best practiced -- and the order in which Pauletta offered the teachings.

1) Dana (generosity) Dana Dharma Talk Dana Practice Guide
2) Sila (virtue) Sila Dharma Talk Sila Practice Guide
3) Nekkhama (relinquishment)      Nekkhama Dharma Talk Nekkama Practice Guide
4) Panna (wisdom) Panna Dharma Talk Prana Practice Guide
5) Viriya (energetic effort)  Viriyana Dharma Talk Viriyan Practice Guide
6) Khanti (patience)  Khati Dharma Talk Khati Practice Guide
7) Sacca (truthfulness) Sacca Dharma Talk Sacca Practice Guide
8) Aditthana (determination) Aditthana Dharma Talk Aditthana Practice Guide
9) Metta (lovingkindness) Metta  Dharma Talk Metta Practice Guide
10) Upekka (equinimity) Upekka Dharma Talk Upekka Practice Guide

No comments:

Post a Comment